Connect with us

Reviews

H96 PRO Plus Review – cheapest Amlogic S912 Android box

Published

on

Yes you heard right because this Android TV box is the cheapest one with Octa core ARM Cortex-A53 CPU Amlogic S912. Actually the price is around $65 and at the end of article you can see read more about shopping information.

And for this price we believe this is the best box available at this moment. In this article review we will present to you everything you need to know about H96 PRO Plus from benchmark testing to watching movies.

Lowest price is at Gearbest online shop, the price is only $65.99. You can buy it here.

Also we have a small coupon code for discount, coupon code: MALE11

Where the price with coupon code is: $63.99.

UPDATE: If you are interested read our newest review for H96 Max Android media player which has 4GB of RAM.

Unboxing

So from what we can see you will receive standard equipment like remote control, power adapter, short user manual, HDMI cable, and of course Android Tv box. Everything is packed in fancy box which gives you premium feeling.

Design and build

Here we don’t spend too much time because mostly all Android box devices have very similar design, and mostly all are made from plastic. So the same situation is also with H96 PRO Plus because the case is made from plastic, at it has more or less the same design like other devices. It has two USB ports, one HDMI, and one port for microSD card.

Performance and benchmark testing

From experience we can tell you that the cheapest devices which costs around $25 are mostly not good quality because they have some shortcomings always. So if you need a good and solid Android box then in reality you need to spend a little more money. So the main question is how much money I need to spend and what is the best choice in this price range group?

We believe that H96 PRO Plus is great choice because it costs only $69.95 and for that money you will receive powerful Android TV box. It is based on Octa core ARM Cortex-A53 CPU Amlogic S912 including 750MHz+ ARM Mali-820MP3 GPU.

When we talk about memory it has 3 GB of RAM including 16 GB of storage space which of course you can upgrade using the microSD card. As you can see really without exaggeration it has strong hardware for this price.

Of course we have tried many different things from playing games, watching movies including 4K movies, going to the Internet we must admit that everything works precisely as it should. To be honest we have been pleasantly surprised because at the beginning we didn’t know what to expect.

Also as we said earlier we have tested PRO Plus with several different benchmark apps, and below you can see the scores.

Playing Retro games 🙂

Actually at this moment playing retro games is very cool, and takes us back to our youth. We really miss this time. It was awesome! So if you want you can normally download and install SNES emulator, and you can play any Super Nintendo game. It is actually super fun.

Video Playback with Kodi 17

Normally Kodi is very important for every media player including this one. H96 PRO Plus comes with the newest Kodi 17 which works like a charm. In other words it works without any lags. You can normally watch movies or TV shows of your choice. We have tried several different video add-ons, and they work as they should to work.

VLC

Besides using KODI, there are other choices for which movies or your favorite TV shows. For example you can and instal VLC player. The other thing you’ll need is USB flash drive, and then you can start watching your movies. We have also tried 4K, and 2K movies, and we can tell you that they are also working without lags. We have been very surprised.

4K Dubai 🙂

Youtube

Connectivity

We noticed that cheaper models does not have some connectivity functions like Bluetooth. Therefore we can tell you that Bluetooth is very important for several reasons. Especially for wireless keyboards, mouses, and most important gamepads. Because mostly all gadgets needs Bluetooth connection.

But don’t worry because PRO Plus has all connectivity functions including Bluetooth v4.1. From other features it has Wi-Fi 2.4GHZ/5.8GHZ  802.11a/b/g/n /ac, and ethernet 100M/1000M.

Conclusion and price info

So the price is $65.99, and you can buy it here at this shop.

So you can see why we are telling you that H96 PRO Plus is best choice under $100. It has all features which you’ll need, and at the same time it has very powerful hardware like Amlogic S912 and 3GB RAM. Believe us you can’t find better device.

If you have any questions please ask, and of course any comments are welcome

Continue Reading
Advertisement
24 Comments

24 Comments

  1. george berman

    Apr 9, 2017 at 08:44

    is it USB 3.00?

    • johnny

      Apr 10, 2017 at 07:40

      no, there are USB 2.0

  2. Onyema

    Apr 26, 2017 at 15:49

    Can i upgrade to Nougat 7.1

  3. Onyema

    Apr 26, 2017 at 16:46

    FYI, it actually has 4 usb ports. Two of which are concealed. I have the 3G Ram/32GB Rom Version. I opened it and voila i saw the other two usb ports. I used my tools to create an opening and all the ports are working

    • johnny

      Apr 27, 2017 at 07:56

      wow did not know that. can you post a photo here ?

    • Greg

      May 25, 2017 at 19:21

      Did you use a dremil tool to cut out the USB ports?

  4. rIck

    May 1, 2017 at 14:04

    Mine came with 17.0 installed and DTS worked well. Upgraded to 17.1 via play store DTS worked well.
    3 days later DTS stopped working. 3 days after that remote would turn H96 off but not on. Had to unplug power and re-plug power to boot device. Great specs but apparently absolute crap firmware!
    Box is going back today.

    • johnny

      May 2, 2017 at 09:15

      Hmm… sorry to hear that. Our sample works just fine until today.

    • Igor Sandler

      May 22, 2017 at 21:23

      Yeap, I hear you, brother. Mine is going back as well, seems like playing a Russian roulette with this box. 2 weeks ago I bought 2 MI BOX 4K, both of them work like a champ. What is DTS, BTW?

  5. Igor Sandler

    May 22, 2017 at 21:21

    No disrespect but this box is a piece of crap, at least the one I bought. I spent 3 days trying to make KODI 17 run on it and it runs on only one of my networks and so far one of my TV has very dark background when I use this box. As soon as I switch to my MI BOX 4K that sits right next to this one, KODI 17 works flawlessly, any WI-FI, any TV episode or Movie. $80.00 waste!!!

  6. Petar

    Jun 17, 2017 at 20:45

    OS version, manufacturer, OTA updates? Google play store working?
    There is a LOT of these kind of devices but 99% firmare on them is bad and there is no support after buying it. Hardware on them is always strong but without proper software and drivers they all freeze, crash or stutter all the time no matter the CPU/GPU or RAM.
    UGOOS and Odroid are the ones someone should really care for. The best for KODI is still Libreelec/Openelec and Raspberry 3 (minus the 4k part).

  7. Pikay

    Jun 27, 2017 at 10:48

    Mkv videos with DTS and DOLBY HD sound output produces no sound output via HDMI to smart TV.
    How do you overcome that?

    Can SPDIF cables connected to mbox hd96pro+ produce dolby or dts sound on TV or amps?

    Thanks

  8. Steve

    Jul 8, 2017 at 21:22

    Crashes quite a bit. Runs very hot, overheating?

  9. Santosh

    Aug 28, 2017 at 10:32

    On H96 pro plus firmware 7.1.1 & 7.1.2 the microphone does not work at all.
    I tried
    1) USB microphone with webcam
    2) bluetooth Headset
    3) USB sound card
    4) wireless remote mic (air-mouse with built in mic)
    None of the above options work to get the voice from mic. & so as you can not use google Now, google search, google assistant.

    However I tried downgrading it to Android 6.0 & mic works without any problem.

  10. April Blouin

    Aug 29, 2017 at 03:00

    Any ideas on why the units remote control won’t work? We unpacked it, entered WiFi password and it froze while connecting. After it sat like that for several minutes we unplugged and re-plugged to reboot. Now remote won’t do anything but light up the TV secton powe light. And yes, we replaced the batteries and tried rebooting again. Any suggestions would be appreciated

  11. Davey

    Sep 19, 2017 at 22:40

    Mine came in today… 2 USB on the left but I can see how 2 more could be ‘hidden’ on the right. 3GB of ram sure makes it fast!! Anytime I set up a box I go into settings.. then Display then adjust the screen position… usually from 100% down to 92% to fit my screen. This box does NOT have that option.. just wallpaper, sleep mode, etc… no setting for display position. Very disappoint as the time at the top right is off the screen along with other ‘edge’ info. If anyone has a solution for this please share. Thanks… Davey

    • Dim

      Oct 21, 2017 at 09:33

      You have to go to “Droid Settings”.. In apps there are actually 2 “gear” shortcuts. Try both and you will find what you want. Had same issue myself 🙂

  12. kentavros3

    Sep 20, 2017 at 19:12

    What about its capabilities to android 3D games ?
    Is it only for retro simple games ?
    Can I connect a wireless joystick ?

    • johnny

      Sep 22, 2017 at 06:54

      yes, you can play any game you want. you can also connect wireless joystick 🙂

  13. Angelo

    Oct 18, 2017 at 13:40

    I have 2 of these , the power supplies are totally crap, one died within a day the other dead after 10 minutes and won’t boot! Luckily you can use the back USB port (the one closer to the power port) to power the unit via USB using a normal usb phone charger (5v 2.4amp) and a USB-a male to USB-a male cable.. although I have the server issue, once the unit goes to sleep it will not turn back on unless power cycled !! I’m still to solve that one ..

  14. Paul

    Nov 16, 2017 at 01:53

    Im from Australia and wanted to use this with the NBL basketball app and AFL footy App. Both are not compatible. Also misses likes the netball. again not compatible with the device. disappointed.

  15. Guðjón

    Nov 29, 2017 at 23:46

    i have this box h96 pro+ 4k worst part are poor kodi 17.6 are get me piss of 😉 geting stopp or not working unistall and install not working ;( frezze like in 1 min have to get off kodi and back in to work !!

  16. Claude

    Mar 30, 2018 at 10:52

    I got a h96 pro plus was working real great then the power started going out and not come back on pull the plug out plug it back in start right up work for a bitand do same thing so out got a new box came home was going to set up the new box and I seen the power cord was the same 5v 3amp so I hooked it up to the h96 pro plus how the box is working great but it was the power cord heat up and go into shut down so got on line got two new power cords got both for 19.00 and that was with ship to so before you bet the box off the wall if it’s going off and on my like to try a new power cord owell have fun all.all the best

  17. Jeff

    Apr 30, 2018 at 12:13

    I’ve had mine over six months. To be honest, I don’t know what version of Android it’s running or what version of Kodi is on it, but everything works except playstore. As for USB ports, mine came with all four exposed plus the sdmc port. I had to change the power supply to one for Australia power points. No adaptors small enough to fit in my entertainment center supply. Sometimes, when I have 3 HDD connected, it will drop one and only recognize two until I unp lug and than plug in again. Images displayed are of the quality I want. No over heat problem throughout our summer and we reached a few weeks of 39-40c, the air conditioning could only maintain a comfortable 28c. As far as I can tell, mine is just branded Amlogic Pro, 3gb ram 16gb rom. Lemon or Luck, I’m happy with this as my first entry into Android and Kodi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reviews

Review: ZMI Reason ONE

Published

on

ZMI Reason ONE — a new smart alarm clock by Xiaomi Ecosystem partner — ZMI. This is the first smart alarm clock by the Chinese brand. The company’s assortment includes power banks, chargers and other gadgets for smartphones.

The design and functionality of the alarm clock are similar to the Xiaomi AI smart alarm clock. One of the main differences is the voice assistant. The alarm clock by Xiaomi supports Xiao AI suitable for Chinese customers. ZMi Reason ONE supports Alexa, which greatly simplifies the use of the device in Europe, USA, and other English-speaking countries.

DESIGN

The model has a compact rectangular shape (12×6×2 cm). It is made of matte black ABS-plastic.

The front panel is occupied by black monochrome screen. Despite the compact dimensions of the alarm clock, the screen is large enough. Therefore, the numbers and letters on the display are clearly visible even from a distance.

On the top, there is a touch button, which is responsible for voice control activation and microphone status.

On the rear panel, there is a speaker, a Micro-USB port (for charging) as well as a button for resetting to factory settings.

FUNCTIONS

The display shows the time, date, alarm status, timer, and WiFi connection. When the voice assistant is activated, the display shows two circles, which look like “eyes”.

ZMi Reason Clock supports the Alexa voice assistant. You can ask the weather, find out the news, time, ask to turn on the music or set an alarm/timer, add smth to a shopping list and even find out the currency exchange rate.

The ringtone of the alarm clock is also easy to change. There are about 30 melodies to choose from the menu.

The alarm clock can also be a portable speaker. The model supports popular music streaming services like Amazon Music, Audible, iHeartRadio, and others.

If you have devices that support Alexa, then you can control them using ZMI Reason One. In order to do this, you need to install a special application and synchronize the devices with each other.

The price for such a smart alarm clock is ridiculously low — only $ 20. Sounds cool, doesn’t it?

Continue Reading

Phones

Sharp Aquos C10 [REVIEW]

Published

on

By

The Sharp C10 review has finally arrived! Sharp is a Japanese brand that mostly covers its market in Japan, but has recently started to turn its marketing to other areas of the world. So yes, Japan is not only popular for Hentai and awesome cars industry but they also get involved in the smartphone industry. Sharp is probably best known for their TVs or kitchen appliances to some, but they are fairly old players in the smartphone game, making phones like the Aquos Crystal back in 2014. Let’s jump back to the C10 and look at all the interesting bits this smartphone hides.

Build quality

Because of it’s non standard aspect ratio, this phone brings some quite interesting looks with it. It’s a bit shorter and wider than what we’re used to, with a droplet styled notch on the top and glossy plastic back. The USB-C jack lies on the bottom between the speaker and microphone grilles, but unfortunately there is no 3.5mm audio jack on the top which is a huge disappointment. Finally, the very clicky three buttons are positioned on the right side and are pretty easy to reach due to the phone’s size.

The phone itself is fairly light in hand, but it still feels relatively sturdy and rigid. It is claimed to have gorilla Glass protection for the screen, but it’s unknown which version of it exactly. Also, Sharp have decided to put the fingerprint reader on the front, so you get a small recession under the screen where the fingerprint sensor resides. The phone itself is not too thick either, so it’s a real pleasure to handle all in all.

Android OS

The OS on this thing is actually pretty light with little to no bloat! It’s Android 8.0 Oreo with a few tweaks to the settings application, task switcher, and the system UI to handle the notch and to distinguish it from other Android phones. Notch handling is done on a per-app basis which means that most applications probably won’t support it. I’ve found that only the stock gallery seems to make use of it, while Youtube cuts off the whole top. You can also disable most of the Google applications if you don’t use them, that’ll get you some extra RAM space if you need it. The situation here is fine although they should work on the visual integrity a bit in the future updates.

Performance

This phone gets 89296 points on Antutu which is not that great for a mid range device. Compared to the Mi A2 which gets 134348 points, performance of the C10 seems pretty bad, but it’s not all that bleak. In Geekbench it gets 883 for the single core test, 4239 for the multi core test and 3702 for the renderscript test. Synthetic benchmarks obviously don’t tell the full story as this device multitasks fairly fast and handles Chrome just fine for day to day web browsing. PUBG Mobile locks the graphics settings to low and even then it stutters here and there, so obviously don’t pick this phone if you’re looking for raw gaming performance. Even then, playing on it’s relatively small screen won’t be too comfortable of an experience. Regarding screens…

Screen

In a mid range phone like this, a screen usually won’t be too interesting of a subject. C10’s screen has some very rounded corners on the top including the notch, while the bottom just has regular, hard corners. You do get a relatively nice FHD+ IPS panel with a resolution of 1080×2040. Colors pop pretty nicely at higher brightness settings, and speaking of brightness this phone handles it pretty well. Lowest brightness doesn’t go too low, but highest brightness is thankfully high enough for outside use.

Cameras

I have to say, this phone has quite an interesting thing going on with the camera. Unfortunately, the second camera is only used for depth detection in portrait mode so I think it’s a bit of an useless addition, but the camera application itself is pretty feature packed. I’m happy to say that it also has a full featured manual mode with only the RAW option missing. The photos it takes on auto mode are lifelike, vibrant and just very pleasant in general. Given it’s wide aperture, it’s also pretty competitive at night, but only with still shots. Portrait mode gets you some pretty strong depth blur, but it’s inaccurate as well so use it in moderation.

Switching over to video, the mild disappointment starts. No stabilization options at all, nor any slow motion modes available. Thankfully it does have 4K, but I don’t think most people will find it very useful. Some EIS would go a long way here. All in all, it’s a pretty competent camera in the price range with some nice software features like the picture-in-picture mode, but the second camera is a bit of a waste, and the addition of EIS would be extremely beneficial.

Audio Capabilities

Testing the audio output on this phone yielded some fairly average results. Doing the tests with the headphones connected, we can see that the frequency response loses it’s linearity and some distortion shows up on the low end. The stereo crosstalk also jumps up by almost 40dB with the headphones connected. These tests are done with a 55ohm set of on-ear headphones so results may vary with different loads. The audio output thankfully does get comfortably loud so it does seem to have enough power.

Similar situation for the speaker which gets relatively loud, but it carries some distortion along with it. Nothing tragic but you’ll hear when you’re pushing it. The plastic case doesn’t resonate with the speaker that much so it doesn’t help the tinny feel of the sound. For such a budget phone, I really didn’t expect anything extraordinary from the loudspeaker so I wouldn’t call it a disappointment by any means.

Battery

Running the Lab501 gaming test on maximum brightness for 15 minutes drained the battery by 5%. Playing PUBG mobile under the same testing conditions for the same amount of time drained the battery by 10%. So with a full battery, you could game on this phone for about 10 hours.

That’s surprisingly good given the relatively small 2700mAh battery inside C10. It’s standby times are even better since the phone shows little drain during the night and could probably last over a week if used sporadically. Suffice to say, I’m pleasantly surprised!

Additional features

When it comes to additional features, this phone doesn’t pack any surprises. Unfortunately, Sharp has even omitted an FM radio receiver software even though the hardware supports it. There’s no FM radio application to be found anywhere! The fingerprint reader usually unlocks on the second try, but the results can vary and it’s pretty fast when it works.

GPS also hasn’t been proven too spectacular as it took a while to get my location acquired, but it works all right once it locks on the satellites. Finally, there’s full OTG functionality here so you can plug in flash drives and all kinds of other peripherals into your phone. No problem!

Closure

The Sharp C10 is an interesting budget phone with a pretty stern and business-like design. Even though the performance might not be the selling point here, you trade it in for a very respectable camera which I’d say is the highlight of this phone. Unfortunately some bad decisions were made, for example the removal of the 3.5mm jack and the lackluster notch handling, but all in all it could be way worse. In the end, all that matters is preference – what do you want out of your phone and what are you willing to sacrifice.

Continue Reading

Reviews

Xiaomi Mi 9 Review

Published

on

By

Xiaomi’s flagship smartphone, Mi 9, has some awesome characteristics like design, powerful processor, and a great camera. Wanna know more about it? Stick around. I’ll tell you all about it.

First Impressions

If we ignore aluminum frame for a moment, It can be said it is made entirely out of glass: the front panel is made of Gorilla Glass 6, and the back panel is Gorilla Glass 5. This model has a shiny blue gradient color, and there are two more color options: black and violet. There’s also a Transparent Edition that pushes price tag way beyond $500.

The glass gives the phone absolutely stunning look, but it also makes it prone to scratches and fingerprints. I recommend using silicon case that comes in the box, or some other type of protection you can buy online.

Mi 9 is Xiaomi’s first phone with a dedicated AI button. Just press it and Google Assistant will instantly pop-up, giving you the most relevant information based on your online behavior. You can reassign it as I did. I’m using it to open the rear camera.

Screen

Mi 9 has a real jewel on the front: a 6,39 inch Full HD Super AMOLED screen. The best screen on any Xiaomi device so far has great readability under the sun and it’s significantly better than LCD panels used on previous Xiaomi flagships. Above the screen is a 20-megapixel camera in a tiny waterdrop notch, and above that is a speaker. There’s even more on top of that: sensors and a LED notification light, hidden from your eyes.

Great things are coming in waves with Mi 9 because under the screen is a fingerprint sensor, lightly illuminated so you can always know where to press to unlock the phone. Let’s not forget Always-on colour display or Ambient Light, Xiaomi’s name for this very usable feature.

Hardware, benchmark

Xiaomi Mi 9 is the first smartphone with Snapdragon 855, the most powerful chipset in the world. It runs like a grinder trough games and apps so if you’re looking for a gaming phone, Mi 9 is something to seriously consider.

The phone in my hands has 6 GB of RAM and 64 GB of storage. Other flagships have at least double storage capacity, but this was a way to keep the device affordable to a much wider market segment. Xiaomi rightly estimated that 64 GB is enough for most users. After all, there is also a 128 GB version available.

At the bottom is a single loudspeaker with enough firepower to flawlessly reproduce music or gaming sounds. It is not a stereo speaker, though.

Camera

Camera quality has become an essential feature for many customers, and Xiaomi Mi 9 has really a great one to offer. Wait, not one but three! The main camera has 48 megapixels, second is 12-megapixel telephoto snapper and the last one is a 16-megapixel ultrawide sensor. Image quality is great with plenty of details.

If you’re looking for a smartphone that will give you a perfect photo in a way to simply get it out of your pocket and make a snap, Mi 9 is an obvious choice.

Software

Xiaomi Mi 9 runs the latest MIUI 10 on top of Android 9. It follows the same logic just like any other MIUI system before, with some nice new features like moving trough system with gestures. I’m using Xiaomi phones for years and this is the most polished and user-friendly MIUI by now. The system-wide dark mode is a nice feature, and there’s also a Second Space. That’s a part of a memory protected by password, where you can put all the apps and other content you don’t want others to see.

Battery

The Battery on Mi 9 has 3.300 mAh, which is slightly smaller than last year’s Mi 8. Although it is not as big as batteries on other flagship devices or even Xiaomi’s own Redmi Note series, it is capable of reaching the end of a day on a single charge. Things get interesting when it comes to the way the Mi 9 charges.

It supports wireless charging, something Mi 8 didn’t have. Xiaomi just recently hopped in a wireless charging train, but it did it with style: Xiaomi Mi 9 has the fastest wireless charging among all the smartphones, capable of reaching full capacity in just an hour.

BUY IT ON GEEKBUYING!

BUY IT ON GEARBEST!

Verdict

Xiaomi knows how to hit a bullseye: it offered a handset with an insanely powerful processor coupled with enough of RAM to easily broke every app in pieces. Camera quality is astonishing, just as the design of the device. There’s also a big shiny screen for awesome gaming and multimedia experience. With price as low as $322,99, Xiaomi Mi 9 is not only an impressive flagship smartphone but also the best-buy option for anyone who’s looking for performance and top image quality. Stay tuned for more videos and don’t forget to subscribe!

Continue Reading
Advertisement

Popular